Doing Laundry on Rinpoche's Birthday

June 18, 2010 § 2 Comments

I feel like Rene Zellweger.

O.K., so I went out again with my dirty clothes on my back, after having Googled laundromats in Berlin, and ended up in an empty place in a younger, hipper part of town. In the laundromat, all the signage about detergent and money and machines was in German, except one: Achtung! No change! On top of that, this was a laundromat out of “Bladerunner,” and there was this large Fifties-style computer with many buttons and lights and numbers, and it seemed to run the show. You put the money in it, I figured out, and then you punched in the number of the machine you’d already put your clothes in (the machines, large and orange, were numbered in a lovely blue. Do you already know about this?) It was much more complicated than that, though—believe me—and I didn’t have exact change. Fuck it, I wanted clean clothes. I started feeding the Dr. No computer Euros and it kept asking me for more.

The thing is that it’s so damn great knowing you’re fundamentally safe but having no idea what’s going on. That is, it’s a relief from living in the groove that’s worn pretty deep.

So, anyway, Rene. She was a newcomer to Hollywood when she auditioned for “Jerry McGuire.” I know this because I interviewed her about it before the film came out. It seems that the director, Cameron Crowe, liked her, and he set up an appointment for her to meet Tom Cruise at the studio (I can’t remember which—maybe Sony). Anyway, she was waiting tables for a living at the time, and, on the day that she was supposed to meet Cruise, she’d done her laundry. Unfortunately, she ran out of money before she’d had a chance to put her clothes in the dryer.

Later that day, when she got to the lot before her meeting, she parked her car and just sat there for a few moments, laughing out loud. How absurd was it, she said to me, that she was about to meet Tom Cruise, and she’d just had to hang her clothes all over her apartment, having run out of money?

Life is like that, I find, sometimes.

I didn’t run out of money, but I was so psyched about having worked that big computer and sat in the empty “Bladerunner” laundromat doing a little meditating in front of the big orange washers with lovely blue numbers, that I just couldn’t wait for the dryer. I wanted, instead, to rush home and hang my laundry on doorknobs and the back of chairs. I felt like I was about to meet Tom Cruise. No, much, much, much better: I was about to go out into the afternoon sunlight, dance around the bicycles on the sidewalk, buy a bag of milk and some bananas, and be among the Berliners, drinking beer and watching the game, and the kids, and the night.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Doing Laundry on Rinpoche's Birthday

  • lynn says:

    so, I, also did my laundry on the birthday of the guru. I decided the best way to celebrate the man who was born today, was to do what he likes, which is watch football. but i had to do laundry before england v. algeria. the timing was good, meet lowell at jakes at 2pm, and the washed clothes went into the dryer at 13:00 (you are in europe now, okay?), so we are all set. but then I went down at 13:30 and the laundry had fallen out of the dryer. The door was open and the wash, not dry, had spilled out. Like the load of clothes was so heavy it pushed the door open and cascaded out onto the floor, stopping the drying process. Doesn’t the work ‘guru’ translate as heavy?
    the game, nil – nil.

  • Trish says:

    Lynnie. I’m not sure I ever saw this comment until now. I was just sending Maudie these links, because she’s in Berlin by herself. And there was this fantastic little story.

    Love it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Doing Laundry on Rinpoche's Birthday at Deitch.

meta

